How do I create an organized engine?

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • I see all sorts of tutorials here about how to do specific things for a game (like making inventories and such) but I do not see any on how to make a good framework/engine. Every time I attempt to make a game that is more than 200 events I end up getting pretty lost and everything seems to turn into pointless spaghetti code.

I realize that this requires practice but I really am unsure what the best way to make a larger than usual game would be.

• This is a pretty complex subject, and there's a lot of advice that could be given. Being a software engineer by trade, I can give a few tips. Abstraction is your friend, as is the separation of logical systems. Smart use of things like families and generalized functions aid the former, while the use of separate event sheets/groups are good for the latter. The key is to not let a single system get too complicated. If a system -- such as an inventory, for example -- begins to get too complicated, you should step back and see if it can be broken up into multiple connected systems instead of one monolithic one.

Remember: complex is better than complicated.

• as linkman2004 said .. you need to keep your events as i like to call the method SAS ( simple and stupid)

that way youl find your way around the huge code ur engine that you build.

having small codes with comments on each one what it does and for what purpose will help you later on, when youl need to fix 1 small bug. comments sometimes are a bit to hard to read... and might confuse you... but with the help with search events.. and having he right comment placed above it.. youl find you way very fast.. and with little frustration.