How do I Create a ramdom stack of individual crates (sprites

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • Hi All,

I'm new to Construct 2 (with a very basic amount of coding knowledge).

I want to make an endless runner that features obstacles on the ground that you could jump on/over or smash through.

I've been able to deconstruct the endless runner template and can figure out most things really, but I'm having some trouble figuring the obstacle thing out. I want the obstacles to be generated at random intervals (I can figure that out). I want the obstacles themselves to be random numbers of stacked individual sprites that could even be swapped out easily and have their own behavior/animations (Example: crates, boxes, cinderblocks, etc. that could each be platforms or get smashed through when player sprite overlaps). So there would be like pyramids (or maybe even some other randomly shaped) stacks of these sprites.

Some ideas I had were to create an invisible sprite at the set random position, then have the visible crate/box sprites spawn at positions relative to that invisible sprite. Maybe the invisible sprite has to be tileable or something to create a random height for the stacks of individual sprites. Maybe these individual sprites have to be in a container or family or something.

I really got stuck there and was hoping to get some ideas. My thought is to set things up to eventually allow for quick swapping out of sprite artwork.

Thanks a lot in advance for any assistance or ideas you may be able to contribute.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads