How do I create a beam of light

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • I am doing a ship game, and i need to create a beam of light simila what truxton had

I have the bean animation but i need that if it find a object.. it can lock on and rescale to it as i move.

• Keep in mind, I'm a C2 noob

You'll need to use this expression, that's all: distance(x1, y1, x2, y2) Calculate distance between two points

hypothetical: We want a beam to hit player. I would set the origin of the beam to x=0 and y= 1/2 of the height

Sprite Names:

beam

player

Set the width of beam with an 'every tick' event:

beam set angle towards position player.x, player.y

beam width = distance(beam.x, beam.y, player.x, player.y)

WARNING: This will distort the image of the sprite if its fancy lighting like in the picture you show. That should work, don't have the time to test myself though, sorry.

• Just thought of something else, if what I posted helps you and you want to show the the beam travel you could make a global set the global as the distance and then create an event

(event) beam width is < distance (action) beam width + 1

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • It looks like that beam is split up into separate sprites. If you look carefully, you can see repeated sections, some mirrored.

I reckon a simple way would be to have a bunch of beam segment sprites that get called in randomly and placed along a path. As long as the sprites all have the same start and end point there shouldn't be any visible seams. Hell, you could even animate them if you had the time to spend on it.

• I still didnt get it.

Here is the image that i will be using as lazer..