How do I - AI workers that wont go to the same object.

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the "Construct Starter Kit Collection". It is the Student Workbook for its Workshop.
  • Hello!

I recently started playing around with Construct 2 and I have some little experimental thing going where I have AI Pathfinding units that chop down trees and bring the wood back to store it.

Currently all my units will go to the same tree and the one that gets there first will chop it down, the rest of the units that went to the tree are beaten to the task by the first unit and get confused. How do I make the Pathfinding AI units go to the closest tree that doesn't already have a unit on the way to it? I basically want to have a unit call dibs on a tree/object and then have the other units know that it is taken and go elsewhere.

Thanks for any help you can give!

• Hello!

I recently started playing around with Construct 2 and I have some little experimental thing going where I have AI Pathfinding units that chop down trees and bring the wood back to store it.

Currently all my units will go to the same tree and the one that gets there first will chop it down, the rest of the units that went to the tree are beaten to the task by the first unit and get confused. How do I make the Pathfinding AI units go to the closest tree that doesn't already have a unit on the way to it? I basically want to have a unit call dibs on a tree/object and then have the other units know that it is taken and go elsewhere.

Thanks for any help you can give!

You almost answered you own question A way to do it is to mark the tree as "occupied" the moment a worker "select" it.

For each Worker
    Tree.Occupied = False
    Pick nearest Tree to worker
    ----> <If Tree found> 
    ----> Tree.Occupied = True 
    ----> Worker.Go to tree
    [/code:3b0gfoir]