How do I adjust ORIGINAL sprite??????????

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Minimal Sprite Font with Stroke for Pixel Art games.
  • Please help, I'm super confused about how I go about changing the 'original' sprite.

I'm a very experienced developer coming here from Unity , I have a very good understanding of classes, instances, inheritance... etc) I've worked in the industry for over 20 yrs - I was the lead animator/designer on Tomb Raider II... just to give you an idea of my experience....

I love Construct 2, all ready got a fully working version of 'Jet Pac' done..... But I'm VERY CONFUSED about this:

create new blank project.

create new sprite. (right click in project view)

drop sprite in layout.

Add physics behavior.

change density to 100.

delete sprite.

-- now... later on I want to put the sprite back again...

drag sprite from project view to layout.

select sprite in layout.

-- now the physics density is set back to 1... not 100.

So if I had set up all the physics values to be just right, got my object working just right.... then all instances were deleted for now.... and I put the sprite back later on.... BANG! All my values are back to the default values. As far as I can tell this happens with all behaviors....

So how do you go about 'storing' your own default setup? - I maybe super confused coming from Unity (I'm kind of expecting it to work like prefabs).

Am I expected to set the values back up for and sprite that has had all it's instances deleted??? Surely my default values should appear in the properties bar when I select the sprite in the project view...... but when you select a sprite in the project view it selects all the instances of it in the layout view??? Is there no such thing as 'my default settings'??

Oh... I'm probably wasting my time writing this... there's something really nice about Construct... but the fundamental approach is starting to feel a bit flawed....

• Right.