How do I

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
  • hi there ive got a problem which is annoying lol.

im new to arrays but i thought id start using them in my project as its important to learn arrays. so i started off with something simple which follows.

on object clicked - push "Barracks" on x axis (((array)))

set value at (array.curx , 1) to globalvarible * 120 (((360)))

so this adds an array of Barracks,360

which works out perfect, so the next bit of code i want to happen is every 1 second subtract 1 from the 360 until it reaches 0 so i used code

for each x element

every 1 second - set value at (array.curx , 1) to array.curvalue - 1

timer = true

the reason ive done the code like this is i plan to add several more items to the array each with its own timer in Y, so i constantly want it to subract 1 from each Y until it hits 0 but the code just sets the array to (barracks,barracks) so im not sure what im doing wrong. i hope this makes sense.

im sorry havent provided a .capx file as its a secret project also a screenshot would be hard as the codes are all under seperate categorys on different pages which would mean alot of copy and pasting

• can anyone enlighten me please. i think the problem is with this code set value at (array.curx , 1) to array.curvalue - 1

• It is viewed unfavorably for you to bump your own topic within 24 hours.

If your project is secret/complicated, at least you could make a new project isolating the issue you are having trouble with. You would be able to get help quicker and more accurate assistance.

But from what I can see, the problem is:

This should be array.at(array.curx, 1). See if that works?

• for each x element

timer = true

Value at(a,b) implicates that this is a 2D array. With index a on the X axis. And index b on the Y Axis.

For each element x ... runs trough all indexes on the X-axis. Meaning the array.curvalue contains a value stored on the X Axis (only).