Ghost Shooter

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
This ghastly character will bring the spooky vibes right into your game with AAA Game Character Ghost.
  • Hey guys & gals,

I'm new to Construct it seemed like the lesser of many evils that being: GameMaker & GameSalad. However, in the tutorial for Ghost Shooter made me think twice a little as I don't have any programming knowledge, but it also uses some pretty hard to follow formulas in there. I never took Trig so I'm a little lost there. Anyway to do a game like that a bit more simplified?

• I haven't looked at the Ghost Shooter tutorial myself--would it be possible to simply omit the parts that use the formulas? Either that or perhaps simply altering the tutorial .capx would suit your needs better.

Regardless, anything new takes some time to become proficient with. I'd suggest diving into some of the other tutorials, looking at this help forum, and simply playing around! Construct is great for that! If you're dead-set on making a game akin to Ghost Shooter, spend a little more time with the tutorial and see if it's possible to cut out the parts you aren't understanding. See what happens!

• Appreciate it, but definitely not looking forward to diving head first into some complicated formulas right now :) I want to make subtle and easy games keep it simple for myself and then end user.

• I don't remember there being any trigonometry, or complicated formulae at all in fact, in the Ghost Shooter tutorial - where are you stuck?

• There was some deep formulas in the Ghost Shooter. I sort of understand it, but I wouldn't have thought of this on my own:

(Player.X + cos(Player.Angle) * (distance(WindowWidth / 2, WindowHeight / 2, Mouse.AbsoluteX, Mouse.AbsoluteY) * 0.7)

• Foreign language to me as I'm a rookie :)