Custom controls(see example)

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Unlock platyers earning coins, and save it with Localstorage
  • Hi, Im relatively new to construct and im trying to make a physics based game, But I want to replicate the controlls of this game -

Subscribe to Construct videos now

What i have so far is,

On mouse down object.apply force (y = -15)

But in this game, If the mouse is down the character tilts upwards and then go's towards that direction, however you cannot completely go up in the air, gravity catches up with you..

Can someone help?

Thanks.

• Im not sure if that game in the link uses physics, doesnt look like it to me. But if you do wanna use physics, I would look at the "Apply force towards position" function instead, and use the Mouse.X and Mouse.Y as parameters.

I made this very simple example, where I dont use physics, but with the same thought as with the physics version. This version just rotate the object by the mouse position and move it forward, and it moves up and down depending on the forward vector.

I think with some tweeking it should work just as the youtube example you linked to.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/52716812/MoveWithAngle.capx

• Hmm Yeah it uses physics, And i cannot figure out how to replicate it using the physics object :(

• Basically when you touch the screen the whale tilt up and goes higher, when you don't touch the screen he tilts and goes down.

Other than that an autoscroll based on horizontal speed of the whale.

There's nothing about friction, damping, you don't have environmental elements that influence the whale's movement (Except for the speed burst but it's just speed...) it's just all about simple orientation of speed vector. Maybe some secondary element does use physics, but the whale is definitely not physics driven.

You can emulate the same kind of movement with a simple bullet behavior.

• Yann

So something like: