Beat 'em up game help

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Ok,I am new to Construct but I successfully passed the begginners guide and also added some more things to the guide's game like respawning or sound effects.

I want to know what kind of a movement shall I add to make a Beat 'em up game like Double Dragon or Streets of rage.

At least tell me some basics.

Any help shall be appreciated.

(I have the sprites background and now drawing the enemies)

• I believe you'll want to use the 8-direction movement. You'll need to figure out how you want to constrain movement, to keep the player in your desired bounds.

Possibly what you can do is use invisible sprites and upon collision, the player can't move further in a particular direction.

• Well, I did a beat'em up a while ago and it's quite hard. My dropbox erased all my .cap (I did on classic), otherwise i would send it to you as study material =/

You'll want to check all the collision by the shadows (even to constrain the movement). That was the easier way I found.

Search the forums for already working combo systems. They'll save you a lot of time/headache.

You'll want to use families a lot too. Expecially for different enemies sprites with similar or identical behaviours. Get yourself a license as soon as possible.

Last but not least: Keep the AI REALLY SIMPLE. It's going to be your most painfull headache if you don't.

Good luck on your quest, LegoGuy

• You should divide your work. Beat'em Ups aren't simple are require a lot of specific and complex behaviors.

I am considering making a beat'em Up, so I already narrowed down some of the topics I'll have to work on. I'd probably do it on this order. Here's a list:

� Hero Movement

� Hero and enemy collision (when punching, kicking, check if attack hits)

� Hero and enemy health: drops when hit, plays death anim. when =0...