Background Music Issues

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
6 looping tracks to use in your games and projects. These tracks are in the style of the 1960s detective movie genre.
  • So, I'm completely new to Construct 2 (though I've worked with similar programs) and I'm having an issue with the audio plugin. I have it set up currently that at the start of a frame, some music should play and when you click on an object, a sound plays. However, when the music is playing, the sound will not play. Does Construct only have one audio channel or something? Am I doing something wrong? Please help!!

• I haven't confirmed it my self yet, but I read somewhere that if the audio files are imported on the Music folder, you can't playback more than one at the time.

Try importing the files on the Sounds folder and playback them from there.

• Import the background music to the music folder and the sounds to the sounds folder.

But most important: Read me

• Thanks for the quick reply! I did import the files separately in the Sound And Music folders but they still won't play simultaneously. Could it be because they're the same file format? I dunno; just spitballing here. I had to set up a script to prevent the sounds romf playing at the same time, but it refers to their tags; not any file.

I'll take a second look at my scripting; maybe I've missed something. I'll upload pics when I get home.

• Sorry, slightly OT-

tulamide - if we're using node-WebKit, can we put music in the sounds folder?

• Here's a link to my script as it stands.

i.imgur.com/2ZZXIuA.png

• I don't see a reason why they shouldn't play at the same time (if I'm not slipping something). You could rearrange the events 1-3 for better maintainability:

+ Touch | On touched BigRedSquare
      Audio | (invert) Tag "voice" is playing
       + (subevent) MrBlockh... | Is overlapping BigRedSquare -> Audio | Play BigRedSquare
       |  + (subevent) System | Caption = 1 -> Text | Set Text to "That's a ..."