Any way to store sensitive data on mobile devices

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Data+ is the best Data Management solution for Construct 3. It contains 4 Addons (Plugin & Behavior).
  • Hi!

I'm desperately searching for a way to store sensitive data on mobile devices. Since the local storage could be manipulated by the user, this is no option for me.

Of course I could save the data on a server, but I want some parts of my game be player offline as well.

Are there any suggestions, ways how data could be saved on my device securely?

No matter if implemented or not to construct, if there's a technique I'll find a way to write a plugin.

• Hi!. Even when I am no expert in the topic of information security, my suggestion would be that more than trying to find a tecnology or workaround with construct to be able to perform this, try to model all that data so your can keep your sensitive data in the place it should be (a secured server, or a well defined backend server-side programmed construct) and all the data needed to play (wheter it is offline or online) withind your game application. If that is an unacceptable answer I would suggest to try and create a temporal model of information and security mechanism so that the user could manipulate data while playing offline but when the app comes back online it would try and verify information against a server and validate wether the urser could update that data on the server side.

• It all boils down to .. How seriously you want to take the security? Are we talking about game scores, save files, banking info or something really seriously secret?

For high scores and game saves, it's not worth to spend a lot time and effort. Perhaps use some encryption (with hidden keys) and that's it.

For serious stuff, you are more or less helpless since the platforms these days aren't secure enough to provide trustworthy environments for applications.