A few issues with "Thomas Was Alone" clone

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
  • Because I have no experience in making games or anything I decided my first project to be and recreate the gameplay of "Thomas Was Alone". I'm attaching the Construct 2 file so you can check it out for yourselves (I'm not 100% sure but you might need the personal license at least to open the project).

There was several things however I could not do right, most of you might think these are just cosmetic issues, but they really bug me I'd love if you guys can help me out a little.

1. Characters float 1 pixel above ground - I think this is something to do with the physics engine. Both characters have platform, physics and solid behaviours and the ground has solid and physics. The reason I did it like that is because I wanted to make both characters to be able to stack on top of each other (physics), but at the same time to not "freeze" (if only solid) when switched. That's why I think physics are important behaviours for them and cannot do without. The ground has physics because they'd otherwise fall through. If all physics are disabled they "land" on the platform but I loose important behaviours.

2. Characters should not be able to push each other - Even though I ranked the physics values density and friction to the max they are still able to push each other around.

3. Character slides when on top of the other - If you've played the original game you'd know that when one of the characters jumps on the "head" of one of the others it'd stay there when the bottom character moves. However mine slide away. I could not think of a way to fix that with friction or anything...