SDK control the game from outside the document.

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
five golem elements Sprites Sheet.Best for enemy or villain game characters.
  • Hi guys,

I'm new to construct but I'm already amazed by it's simplicity and I feel like I'm going to enjoy it.

I created my first game and I displayed it inside an iframe on my website.

I would like to know if it's possible to use the SDK to reload the game from my website.

So I want to access the content of the iframe and then call a function that will reload the game.

Thanks in advance for your time and patience.

Best,

J.

• Bit unsure what you're trying to accomplish but I'll take a crack:

If you want to refresh your game from within your iFrame, that's as simple as restart layout event, you can map this from everything from a collision to a key press.

Refreshing your game from outside the iFrame, via a text or image link is pretty simple: Your best bet is to simply refresh the whole page, which will reset the iFrame.

If you want to refresh the game without refreshing your web-page, in theory you could get creative with mouse overlapping collisions; with your game refreshing the layout whenever the mouse isn't within your iFrame: The practicality of this questionable though.

Finally, if your familiar with JS, you can use that refresh your frame, simply use this on a button on your parent page:

<IFRAME id="frame1" src="http://www.example.com/"  runat="server">

<script type="text/javascript">
        function refreshiframe()
        {
            parent.frame1.location.href="http://www.example.com/"
        }
        </script>

<asp:Button ... OnClientClick="refreshiframe();" />

As always StackOverflow is your friend: stackoverflow.com/questions/2064850/how-to-refresh-an-iframe-using-javascript

I'm pretty sure you can refresh an iFrame simply in HTML, though I've never tried, doubtless someone knows!

• E Bear : thank you for your kind answer.