Professional Developer - First Impressions of C2

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Professional Voiceover of a shopkeeper in your game. Multiple Voices!
  • Hey there, today is my first day owning a Construct 2 license. I work as a Unity Developer full time currently (my heart belongs to Unreal Engine 4 though), and I decided to try out Construct 2 for some personal projects aimed at the web.

I've only been using Construct 2 for a day so far, and there are a few annoyances that I'd like to ask about. Please enlighten me if I've made any silly oversights.

1. I noticed that I can't use Ctrl+Delete or Ctrl+Backspace to delete words in comments. I cannot stop myself from doing that, and a little bit of me dies every time it doesn't work, as it works when writing expressions.

2. When adding a number to field, why does an error occur when I type a float .5, instead of 0.5? Why doesn't it just automatically tack on the 0 in front of it?

3. If I make a spelling error in an expression while typing the beginning of an object or variable name, I have to delete the whole name, and then delete and retype the period in order to get the list to come back up. I wish it would just come back as soon as it detects a valid name, as soon as I fix the spelling error.

4. I wish there was a zoom out scalar in the Tilemap window. My tiles are high resolution, and I can only see like three or four at a time because they are displayed at full resolution. I do not want to have to expand that window to a huge size, or take up space on my other monitors. Currently there is a right click menu for zooming in. I would wish this to be ctrl+scroll for consistency with the layout editor, and also support zooming out.

I'm sure there are a few more I'm forgetting at the moment, but that's all for now.