One word : Bumpmapping ?

1 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Word Guess
$10 USD
Questions and answers are stored in simple txt-files. Cool animation of everything
  • Hello fellow constructors,

My current obsession concerns the possibility to add some dynamic lights in our projects. I've experimented several things to understand the beast, two softwares, one external effect (dynamic light by Pode) and an old plugin (canvas by r0j0hound). Now, I have to deal with the Bumpmapping effect inclued in Construct 2. I thought it could be similar to Pode's plugin, but nope.

As I said, I studied the subject a little bit, so I have my sprite and the corresponding Normal Map. Now my question is simple : is it possible to use the bumpmapping effect to obtain something similar to this GIF ?

Here's my sprite and its normal Map :

If it's similar to my previous tries, I have to add the Bumpmapping effect to the Normal map and then, put my sprite behind it, just like that :

http://www.mediafire.com/download/dmmijddadbebx42/bumpmap_experiment.capx

But then, how to deal with the light in the event sheet ?

• I don't have experience with this myself i think some people have gotten Sprite Lamp to work in C2.

https://www.scirra.com/forum/sprite-lamp-software-that-creates-dinamic-shadow_t91062

There was also Sprite Dlight, don't know what happened with that though.

https://www.scirra.com/forum/sprite-dlight-support_t118649?start=10

• Thanks Ethan

[quote:2r0og52e]Sprite Lamp, that actually can produce great normal maps, depending on the skill of the artist who draws the required 2-5 lighting profiles. The downside here is obvious: For larger projects, this means a HUGE amount of work, and you need at least some basic artistic skills to paint nice shading for multiple directions.