Need Help Stoping an object being moved by touch control

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • I have set up a game where you drag a character around the screen with your finger using touch controls. I need walls to stop the movement of the character (like if he was going through a maze) but for the life of me I cannot figure out a way to do this. I'm new to using this program and so much of the collision detection in this engine seems to be set up with using Solids and then a movement behavior. But I can't seem to find any behavior combination that would allow a touch controlled object to collide with a solid like all the other control schemes do.

I've been using Game Salad for the past few years and they have simple collision detection. If an object collides with another object you can just set it to bounce and if neither object have any bounciness, it will just stop moving. But since I can't seem to find any bounce like events in this engine when using touch, I'm totally stumped.

All I want is a way to stop the sprite's movement like it does using any of the other control types. I've tried using a set position command to make the object manually bounce back a bit if it collides, but it looks really janky and doesn't always work right especially if I try to use a small movement number. I'm sure someone must have built a game using this type of control scheme before but I just can't seem to find any examples of it in the manual or in the tutorials.

Any help that can be provided would be greatly appreciated.

• Add a condition to your logic that says "If Overlapping Wall" or whatever your wall objects are called, and then invert that condition so it says basically "Not if Overlapping Wall".

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • BluePhaze: