Made a mistake, can't save or load!

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Template for a generic save / load system, fully documented in comments and video
  • Hello!

Let me first say that I'm very new to Construct 2. I am not sure if the following problem is due to a bug or some mistake on my part.

I have been trying to learn the program using the free version. I was about 5 hours in to making my first test game. This morning I tried to load the project only to find that it is completely blank. I does open, but all of the work is gone. It is as though I am opening a blank new project.

Also, I can't save anymore. Ctrl s doesn't work and I notice the save button is greyed out.

Any thoughts on what the problem is?

Thank you!

• Firstly, did you save regularly and make use of the autosave and autobackup? If not, then you may have to accept a harsh lesson, which is awful, I know

Secondly, is it possible for you to attach the .capx to your post so we can test it ourselves?

It is possible that saving is disabled due to reaching the limits of the free version (see here: https://www.scirra.com/store/construct-2).

• Heh, I did save regularly. But it if this is a limitation of the free version, as you say, then that is the case. I just overlooked it in the description of the program! I'll have to look at the description again. Thank you for pointing that out!

• The limit doesn't include making your project empty - it would just not allow you to save anymore, which is why I suggested you let us try it for ourselves. That sounds a little strange.

• Here it is. It will probably just open as a blank document. If it does in fact open, it will have a star tile bg with a rudimentary spaceship and point and click movement controls.

file:///C:/Users/Theodore/Downloads/SpaceShipsWoo.capx

• Oops.I messed up. Let me try again.

• As I said, I'm very new to this and showing the file didn't work like I thought it would. How do I post the file?