Interface suggestions

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
J.BoB Impact Action Interface Sound Pack comes with 120 high-quality sound effects
  • Hi, I'm new to the forums but I've been using C2 for a few months on and off. I liked it so much I bought the full version!

I plan on making a fairly large and complex action RPG tank shooter. Starting out I actually found development rather speedy for getting a lot of basic functionality up which would have been boring or frustrating to implement from scratch with something else but for more complex stuff I started noticing that this requires a lot of clicking around and navigating the interface. My suggestions largely have to do with the menu style scripting.

Text Script:

Now, I'm a fairly cruddy programmer but I've used C# enough to miss 2 speed related things about text based editing that you see in most compilers: intellisense (which I notice is implemented with C2 expressions which is great!) And of course the mere fact that I can type notably faster than I can navigate windows once I know what I'm doing with a feature.

I understand that this might be time consuming to implement but is it possible that there could be a text code editor mode that is 1 to 1 with the menu structured scripting? I read somewhere that the javascript gets complicated when decompiled directly, I was thinking perhaps a custom text script sort of like the 'expressions' text script in C2. If not, I can understand that this might not be where your priorities would lie in development and that I can still get my game done regardless but something to this effect would speed up development I think.

The menu based structure of C2 is extremely useful for learning new features but once the general idea and how C2 treats the functionality is learned I wish I could go into a speedier mode of a 'simplified' text based development.

//Commenting out code