I am depressed and discouraged. What to do?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
  • I have this neat idea for a Tycoon theme. But lately life has been really hard for me (been unemployed since last December, haven't been able to find work since then, and have $2 in my bank account, so I can't even get the full license to Construct 2 yet).

It seems overwhelming to me. I don't know how to motivate myself to get started, or how to just break the process down into small, doable tasks. I'm still new to game development, never published a game before.

Really could use your advise.

Thanks.

• Goodwill - they will help find employment and train you in new skills to land a job. And focus on employment before you sit down and stress about building a Tycoon game. IMO

• Goodwill - they will help find employment and train you in new skills to land a job. And focus on employment before you sit down and stress about building a Tycoon game. IMO

Actually, I still live with my parents, so it's not so much of an issue. Plus I already have assistance in finding employment and getting training. In fact, I start college next year. In the meantime though, I have nothing to do with my time.

• joshua - workflowy.com

put down what needs doing in broad steps

make game.

then break it down into what needs doing like, coming up with idea, testing idea, making basic gameplay, starting art, etc

then break them down either as you go, or all at once into further steps like phases if you need to, or not if you don't. the idea though is if the list seems overwhelming you can click the circle on the left and fill the screen with only one section and it's subtasks, and if they are too big and still seem overwhelming to start on, break them down even more until you're like "seriously? I can finish this in two minutes"

and if you start crossing those out even one a day

you'd be surprised at how different you feel. trust me I'm an expert on feeling overwhelmed