Games covered in a game programming course

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • Greetings all,

First, a bit of background: I'm a college professor in New York, and since 2012 I've been teaching a college course in game programming, using Construct for the first half (and switching to Java for the second half). Starting next year, I'll be splitting this course into two separate courses (as they should be), one purely based around Construct (aimed at an audience with no programming experience) and one for students who have already taken a semester course "Introduction to Computer Programming" in a language such as Java. I've also been teaching summer camps for high school students interested in game programming, basically a condensed version of the college (Construct-only) course I've been developing and tweaking.

We just finished our 2014 summer camp a few days ago. This summer, the students worked on a total of 19 different projects, some projects were fairly polished games, others simply introduced the mechanics of advanced objects/behaviors (such as the Multiplayer object). For anyone who might be interested in designing a similar program, I've included the progression of games we worked on below. If anyone has thoughts on something I've left out, or ideas for improvements, please do post a reply!

1. Collection game. A turtle (8-direction, bound to layout behaviors) moves around the screen collecting starfish; score is stored (global variable) and displayed on screen (text object).

2. Breakout. (bullet and solid behaviors, paddle movement controlled by mouse). Powerups (multiball, paddle size, ball speed) included in second iteration of project.

3. Asteroids. (wrap behavior; basic animations for explosions). Enemy UFO fires lasers at you while moving across screen in second iteration of project.