[r206] capx and caproj corrupted after save

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Template for a generic save / load system, fully documented in comments and video
  • Problem Description

Hi,

I've been working for 4 months on this project and was still working on it yesterday. My computer crashed yesterday while in sleep mode and I had to restart it. The project was open before the restart but not saving.

When I tried to open the project today, it said the file can't open since it's not XML.

I opened it with Notepad++ but only see NULL values instead of XML...

I do not have any backup, my computer being quite slow and the project quite big, I had disabled this option and I only have a 1 month old backup.

Is there any way to retrieve the correct XML from the corrupted file ? Or at least a part ?

The capx backup is also corrupted and I can't open it with 7-zip...

Attach a Capx

spooky-heroes.com/Spooky%20Heroes.caproj

Description of Capx

Caproj contains the XML data of the project

Steps to Reproduce Bug

• Step 1 : Open caproj with text editor

Observed Result

Only NULL values appear

Expected Result

XML appear

Affected Browsers

• None

Operating System and Service Pack

Windows 10

Construct 2 Version ID

• If something is so important, then you should always implement a robust backup scenario.

A .caproj is no good at all - it's only one part of the project. You would need to either provide a .capx or the whole project as a zip file.

Are you certain you haven't got a autobackup or autosave file? Because without them, you have unfortunately learnt a hard lesson about backing up.

• Sorry, there is nothing we can do to recover a file if it is empty, and there is nothing we can do to fix the bug without the steps to reproduce the problem in the first place.

All digital work is susceptible to loss from a range of issues from bugs to failing hardware. Construct 2 has built-in backup options to help protect you from this.