Spawning 2 objects at same time problem

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Time rewind like in "Braid". Choose objects that will be affected by time rewind
  • So I have a moving object, when that object is killed, it spawns 2 new smaller objects. Issue I am having is, they spawn on top of each other, collide, and one of them shoots off into a random direction, when I want them both moving in the same general direction.

Only way I found to avoid this was to use the move ahead action, but what I really want, is them to spawn side by side, relative to the angle they are moving at. Any help on how I might achieve this?

• I am relatively new to Construct 2, but one thing I learned, is that one is shooting off because they can both collide with each other.

So to prevent that you would have to disable their ability to mutually collide.

• Now if I do that, then the 2 just sit on top of each other with collision being disabled, plus, I really just don't want them to spawn on top of each other is it, there may be instances where they may collide, and I want that to happen.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Here's an idea, I haven't tested it.

You should be able to use the "Move at angle" action on the new objects when they spawn to move them away from each other in the direction you want.

Description:

"Move the object a number of pixels at a given angle in degrees."

You'll want to get the angle that the original object is moving, then add 90 degrees. Spawn the first new object and "Move at angle" with that new angle by the new object's width for distance. (Or perhaps half-width if it spawns on its center)

Then take the original object's angle again, and subtract 90 degrees. Spawn the second new object and "Move at angle" with this new angle, again by the new object's width for distance.