[Solved]Setting effect parameter affects all instances

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
A total of 214 high quality and unique magic sound effects suitable for RPG, Battle Arena and more!
  • Hi, I create a square (with bullet behavior) every 1 second with some random values for it's size, speed, spawn coordinates.

For these values, it's working correctly, each instance has different values and they do not change during their lives.

But I also have a ReplaceColor effect that is changed randomly between 3 colors on creation of the square.

This one affects all square instances, not only the newly created one.

(Click on image to go to it's full size)

I have a Construct license for some times now but I never used it so I'm a newbie and don't see where I did something wrong.

Can you explain how can I change the color of the newly created square without affecting already created squares?

Thank you.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • When you recreate a new instance of an object, construct 2 uses its default values to Initialize the instance. You can have the function called after the new object is created to change its stats, or keep the first instance of the object somewhere in the layout, and change it values on layout load.

• Thank you for your answer, sorry but I do not understand what I have to do, I'm not sure it answers my problem.

This is what my function does:

Everything works great, each instance has it's own size, speed, and spawn coords.

But the ReplaceColor affects all instance, I do not want that.

I'd like that each instance keeps the color that was defined at creation. The same way it keeps its size and speed.

So why does it work for size and speed but not for color?