Infinite Loops - While

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
A set of Backgrounds, objects, characters that you can immediately use for your project with ease!
  • Hi.

How would I set up an infinite loop with a condition to infinitely cycle through 29 values until the condition is no longer true?

I've set up the array with the 29 values, but for some reason I'm having trouble nesting the For Each Value under While.

What's the best way to code this?

We could obviously try something with less values and just appending a text object.

This is my first time using While, so I may not be up on all the syntax possibilities.

• General flow :

Set premise to false

While

Test premise

.......... change something

.......... test change

........................... set premise false or true based on change

But in your case, chances are that you dont need a 'while', if we speak about a 1 dimensional array.

Array > Contains value 'value'

................. in the actions the index of that value is stored in the expression Array.IndexOf('value')

Otherwise.

Local variable 'counter' ... number .. = 0

Local variable 'check' ... number .. = 0

While

'check' = 0

_______ Array .. Compare at XY ... x = counter .. y = say 1 ... compare to what you wanna compare

_______________Set 'check' to 1

_______System > Compare 2 values ... counter ... is the same as ... Array.widht - 1

_______________Set 'check' to 1

_______ System > Every tick

_______________add 1 to counter

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Ok, thank you. Let me give this a go and see if I can code a workable solution.

• I did not 'solve' anything for you. I see you say in another topic: