How do I spawn a list of Objects/Bullets on touch

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
This pack contains 10 types of bullet effects, with different shapes and colors.
  • Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie around here, I've been playing with construct for a few days now and I've got stuck on this game I'm trying to make!

The basic problem is: I want to be able to spawn a list of different color bullets to fire from my turret. The turret is in a fixed position and is currently spawning on touch, kind of like a bubble shooter mechanics I guess.

So for instance, I want it to shoot: Green, Green, Red, Red, Blue then Red - I would want to modify this for each level.

Ideally I would also like to be able to show the color of the current bullet and the next one below at the turret point like in the attached picture.

I've thought of maybe using Global Variables to trigger different Animations and looked at a bunch of other stuff but feeling a bit lost, if someone could point me in the best direction to look it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

• Hi,

you need an 1d array (a list) for this.

Just fill it with colors and on every shoot take the first color for your shoot and then "pop" the first value.

You could also use the 1,2,3 value to show whats coming next.

Also do you want to set the list manualy for each level or make it random?

• You could hack this with events but dsminor is right about a single dimensional array being best for what your trying to do.. would make it super easy to level change.

Plus its a really good opportunity to force yourself to learn arrays in Construct2.. the 1d is really all you need for about 90% of Construct2 projects and it easy to learn.

• Thanks for the advice guys, I'm slowly wrapping my head around it by watching some Youtube videos! I still havn't quite worked out a solution yet though.