How do I reset every x seconds when the layout start

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Like tourists, Travel around the world as fast as you can!
  • Hi, Every X seconds keep running after i change to other layouts and when I come back to that layout it is a mess. How could I make every X seconds start only when I start the layout?

• That's weird, it should always reset after every start of the event sheet.

I think sharing a screenshot would be effective so we can get a better idea of what the problem is.

• Here is the screenshot of the every x seconds event.

Btw I'm really new to Construct 2 so I think it might be some trivial things that I forget

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Haha no worries squaresmile, we've all been there....actually I might still be there!

Hmm...that's weird, it looks ok to me. Just want to check, but when you go to other layouts, do those layouts use the same variables and do they change the variables? If yes, than without resetting all the variables, they will carry the values forward. Try adding a reset global variables on the start of layout and see if it fixes your problem.

Just a humble opinion, it might be a good idea to use a variable to start your game. For example, varS. On start of layout, wait 1 second than set varS to 1. Than for all the other events, put them as a sub event to the event if varS = 1. You have more control over it and allows you much more leeway later if you want to make changes to when the game should start. Doing this should also resolve your problem if you are still facing it.

• Am I doing it right because it doesn't resolve my problems.

My other layout is only a start layout with a start button and high score and doesn't use any variable.