How do I Make Switchable Weapons/Item Slots?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Slots
$9.99 USD
Template for a slots game, fully documented in comments and video
  • I have been wanting to make an exploration based action-rpg, similar to the original NES Zelda for a while now and after looking into a lot of different possible game engines I believe that Construct might be the perfect one for the job. I have very little experience with these sorts of things unfortunately, the only other game engine I worked with in the past was RPG Maker XP.

I've seen tutorials on here for drag-and-drop inventories and life-bar HUD's and they seem like they will go a long way to helping this project come to life, but before I can work on the game I need to figure out how to do the player controls.

Ideally I want the player to be able to set any 2 items to their usable items slots (sword, shield, torch, potion, etc.) and then use them to attack enemies or solve the games puzzles, but a lot of the game examples I've seen here have fixed controls. Is it possible to have a variety of potential items/player actions that can only be toggled on or off when the game character has the item equipped, and make it so that the item/ability uses the specific item slot control for use?

(Example: Item slots A and B. If the player equips "sword" to A, then pressing A will activate sword, but if he equips it to B then B will activate sword)

My apologies for the long rambling post.

• Those look like good tutorials, but they seem to be tutorials for inventory systems. Inventory is a part of the question I asked, but I was mostly asking if/how it is possible to have player input commands be able to be toggled between different inventory items.

You know, being able to set items from the inventory into 1 of 2 action command slots and then having the item in that slot determine the action that takes place on the screen when the player inputs the command.