How do I bounce on enemy's head?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Bounce the ball and try to keep it bouncing and prevent it from falling down for as long as you can.
  • I'm sorry for this thread, I know this has been asked dozens of times already but even if I found several threads asking it, I couldn't find a solution for my issue.

Also, please forgive me if this is something easy, I'm a total noob with construct. Please be patient with me.

I'm trying to make a local multiplayer game in which jumping on the enemy's head makes your character bounce, without killing the enemy.

I thought it was easy, I followed the "how to make a platformer" tutorial and used the same behavior it used to jump on the enemy and kill it, minus the killing part. I also removed the part that said "if the player touches the enemy at other angles he gets damaged", since I don't want that to happen. I just want to continuously bounce on the enemy's head when I jump on it.

The point is that it doesn't work. The character just stays on top of the enemy's head.

Here's my .capx, in case you have the time and the patience to help me (please).

(https):// www (dot) dropbox (dot) com/s/98lfgvjyo5nrqud/ayy%20lmao.capx?dl=0

Notes:

-The grey alien moves with the directional arrows

-The pink alien moves by connecting an xbox 360/xbox one controller and pressing "A" to jump and the D-pad to move

-Being this a local multiplayer game I tried to make this behavior happen exactly the same way for both players

-I tried using "on collision > compare y to player2's y" instead of "platform is falling" and while it seems to work better, at first, it gets randomly activated by simply touching the enemy, without actually jumping on him.

-I also tried adding an invisible sprite to player 1's feet but the detection seems very imprecise, sometimes it works and sometimes the player just stops on the enemy's head