Death Animation

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Ninja char for your game! Make your own Shinobi game with this art.
  • I'm new to construct 2 (4th day) and I can't quite figure out how to get my death animation to work. It seems to get stuck playing a few frames and not the whole animation. I tried just replacing the object with a new one of the death but the player just disappears. What i'm looking to do is play the death animation, stay on the last frame for a few seconds and then fade out. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Add this to the event:

I must say amazing work for a beginner.

• Add this to the event:

Thank you! I actually have a background in game making but i'm not a programmer (well I help with minor code in C#) and this is something i'm doing without the team.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Add this to the event:

It worked but the animation loops 3 or 4 times before stopping. I suppose I need a boolean to turn off the shooting as well?

• System..Trigger once while true

• System..Trigger once while true

Totally worked! Thank you sooo much!

• One more question. It works as long as i'm not pushing any of the movement keys but if you are it just glitches and he just stands there. I thought that's what the inverted platform is moving would have fixed but I guess not?

• You actually need to make some "state" to add as a condition in your "is falling" event.

You can add a boolean "Alive" to your player object that will be kept true as long as it is alive. You can do the same by checking that Health's value is > 0.

On the moment it dies, pass the boolean to False, it will make it so that only the death animation is played, entirely and not "short circuited" by the "falling"/"on landed" animation.

See attached capx made in r189.