How many of you NEED the business license?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
A space themed game with high quality 2D graphics and addictive music that provide hours of fun
  • Hello,

My name is Olivier, I'm new here. I'm a professional 3d artist, formerly programmer, and I have always wanted to make my own game. In fact I had started making my own 2D engine in C++ over a year ago. I know it's kinda like reinventing the wheel, but that was part of the challenge.

I had made some good progress, I was able to make a basic platformer and a point-n-click proof of concept.

Unfortunately, it's still missing many features, especially some kind of content editor. It's still a long way before I can actually start making the game itself and I don't have much time to work on it. When I do, I can't remember where I left it, I have to re-learn how to use my own code. Eventhough I use notes and comments, I can't remember what works or not, what needs to be done next, and I quickly loose motivation and forget it for another month.

So I decided to just forget the "make my own game from A to Z" idea and decided to give a try at one of those game making programs. I remember seeing some on Steam. I hesitate between Game Maker and Construct, I did some research and decided to give Construct a go first, it looked easier to learn, I like the idea of HTML5 based game, and I liked its philosophy better (pay once for everything and not this DLC bullsh*t).

So after doodling with it for a couple of days, doing tutorials and getting better result than what I had achieved in the past year, I decided to buy a license to use it at its full potential. When I got to pick which, of course, I decided to get the personal one. It's not that the business license is that expensive (compared to some software I use at work, it's nothing), but hey, make a good game first, then we'll see if we need one.