How is Copyright working?!

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
  • Hi! I want to make a game about a famous person and I'm not sure how the copyright works.

Can I get rid of it by making just a free online game?

What if I don't?

• Hi, I am not a lawyer so don't count on it that following is accurate

it all depends on the country - so I don't have any clue about Iran, but I think a lot of smaller celebrities would avoid going into a legal battle with an Iranian citizen (except of course he is from Iran himself).

If you put your stuff on sites like google play then, if you get spotted, they will take down your game or even your account. Also consider that if you host it the laws where the hoster has its servers or company will also be an issue.

By law it doesn't matter if it's free or not (especially European law), but in practice this makes a huge difference.

If it is comedy you are better off - here there are a lot of laws to allow you to do stuff to public persons as long as it serves comedy (especially US, but also Europe).

The official way would be to contact the management of the person and ask. But there is a slim to no chance they will say yes without some huge demands.

• Hi, I am not a lawyer so don't count on it that following is accurate

it all depends on the country - so I don't have any clue about Iran, but I think a lot of smaller celebrities would avoid going into a legal battle with an Iranian citizen (except of course he is from Iran himself).

If you put your stuff on sites like google play then, if you get spotted, they will take down your game or even your account. Also consider that if you host it the laws where the hoster has its servers or company will also be an issue.

By law it doesn't matter if it's free or not (especially European law), but in practice this makes a huge difference.