Simple use of an .ini file.

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Source File, music and art pack for Android Negotiator
  • I had a bit of a look around, and I couldn't find any topics specifically refering to .ini files and how they are structured and used. So, I figured I'd post up a little about what I've learned after tearing apart other peoples .caps. It's nothing spectacular, as I'm still learning a majority of stuff as well.

The first thing to know is how an .ini file is structured. They have 3 seperate parts; the group, the item, and the value.

An example of how an .ini file might look:

[Names]Name1=Fred
    Name2=Bob
    Name3=Jack
    Name4=Tom
    [/code:2grvp9ic]

In that example, [Names] is the group; Name1, Name2, Name3 and Name4 are items; and Fred, Bob, Jack and Tom are values. Inside our .ini file, we can have as many groups and items as we need.

In Construct, before we can do anything with an .ini file, we need to add in the INI object. This object doesn't need to be placed in the layout, similar to the Mouse & Keyboard object.

Then we need to tell Construct to load the file. It's simple to do.

[code:2grvp9ic]System - Start of Layout

INI Set INI file to AppPath + "names.ini"[/code:2grvp9ic]

Putting this as your first event will set the location of the .ini file you want to use. AppPath tells Construct that the .ini file is located in the same place as the .cap or .exe you are running. If you have your .ini file in a different location from your .cap or .exe, you need to specify its location instead of AppPath.

When we want to get a value from out of our .ini file, we need to specify which group and which item we want to get. In this example, if we wanted to get the name Jack, we need to specify the Names group, and the Name3 item.

Say we want to display the name Jack in a text object when an event is met, like your player sprite overlaps an something else. To do this, you would do something similar to: