Introduction to branching

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • Quite often people ask one question (well, the phrase changes, but it boils down to this): "Why isn't the state switched?"

The answer hides in the way Construct works. The event sheet is executed in a loop. The start of the loop is a new tick, then every event is executed until the end of the sheet. The changes are reflected and then the next iteration starts.

Here is a rough sketch of what is going on during one tick (I'm no professional, so this is in no way a real flow chart, but it makes the progress more visible and understandable):

As you can see, changes you make with actions are updated, but not reflected until the whole sheet is processed. "But how does this prevent my state being switched?", you may ask. Let's take a simple example that will make it clearer.

Start Construct, create a new Direct-X game, insert a sprite, the mouse&keyboard object and a textbox. Clear the text of the textbox. In the event sheet, do this:

Now have a look at the diagram. Let's say the sprite is clicked. Now this is snapshotted as well as the fact that the current text of the textbox is "".

The event sheet is executed. There is only one event. The snapshot says "Yes, the sprite is currently clicked on", so the action is performed. The text of the textbox is now updated to "hello world", but we don't see any changes yet.

There was only one event so the changes are now reflected, a new tick begins and the new text will be drawn by the gpu in this new tick. This is important to keep in mind.

Now let's see another example. We want the text to be changed to "hello world" on one click and changed to "" on the other and so on. Straight forward, you may think this is the solution: