Tile sets

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
10 Beautiful Pokemon-like Building Pixel Art Sprite Sets
  • Hey, I'm pretty new with construct and I'm kind of struggling to figure out a good way to do tilesets. As far as I can tell there's no built-in support for tilesets except for grid snapping. Right now I just have a 32x32 sprite object that has lots of tiles as different frames. I just set the animation speed to 0 and then change the sprite frame to whatever tile I need. But this still seems really cumbersome compared to a built-in tileset editor. Also I'm concerned having all the tiles as objects would incur an unnecessary performance hit since I only need the image of the tiles. I was planning to do the collision stuff on a different layer.

So I'm mainly asking for advice. What would be some alternatives to the way I'm doing it? Even better if a plug-in exists for it. I tried searching some other topics for tilesets but most of them were very vague and/or very old.

Also - not to complain, but from a fresh point of view on the project I was surprised at there being no official tileset plug-in this close to a 1.0 release. Or maybe I'm overlooking something. Either way, I'm still very impressed with construct so far. Keep up the good work and thanks for your efforts Devs!

• The way you're doing it is fine, don't worry about performance unless you have tiles that are non-power-of-2, or are very large, or if you have a few hundred different kinds of tiles.

Yes, I agree that a Tileset plugin would be cool. David was working on one a while back, but it was never finished and it was a little buggy, and the interface was never completed. Hopefully someone will come up with a tileset solution because there is a need for it, and people ask about it periodically.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads