Paths for objects / Collisions with specific sides

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Welcome! I-Spy (Hidden objects) is an educational puzzle that is more than just seek-and-find activities.
  • Hello all. I'm making an extreeemely simple single-screen platformer, just to get my feet wet, and I have a couple of embarrassingly basic questions. Pardon the lack of proper terminology.

Paths: Is it possible, in Construct, to create a path, and then say to a specific object, hey you, follow this path? Like platforms or nasty spike blocks or what have you.

Collisions: Is there a simple way to make collisions only occur on certain sides of an object? For example, imagine a block that's flat on the top but spiky on the bottom, so the character can stand on it, but gets hurt if he jumps into it from beneath. (I can think of some creative solutions that might work, but I thought I'd ask first if there was a simple, obvious-to-everyone-but-me way.)

Oh! One more thing: Is it just me, or does 'Max fall' in the Platform behaviour not have any effect? I've had my character fall infinitely (using the Wrap behaviour), and he just gets faster and faster. All of the other variables seem to work like they should.

• Um... I thought I posted this in the Help forum. Did I post it in the wrong forum accidentally, because I'm an idiot, or did it get moved?

If it got moved, well... I'm not actually making any feature requests; I'm asking for help doing these things I want to do.

• Check out deadeyes platform school it will answer alot of questions about this kind of stuff and shoy you how to do it.

There is not path object but it is explained in the tut i mentioned above.

also you can check collisions by comparing the positions but your better off making 2 separate object and checking collisions on the spike object. Or if you have to use one object for the spikes and platform make an invisible sprite and check collisions on that for spikes.