Access any object using UID at any time?

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
With this template you will learn how to use the GooglePlay Games native plugin
  • Hello, all!

A slightly technical question, can't really find anything similar here.

Is there a way to access ANY object by its UID inside any expression?

As an example, if we knew the UID of an object and needed to get its X coordinate from some event where this object never even comes up, could we do something like this:

AllObjects(UID).X

Maybe I'm just used to a similar approach from some macro programming, but if there was a way to access things using indexes easily that' d be awesome. If there isn't this is a nice feature to have

• If I recall correctly there is a way to do this using Python. I'm no Python expert though, so I couldn't even begin to explain how . As for events, no... you'll have to pick the object by it's UID in a condition like everything else.

+ Sprite: Unique ID is whateverValue
        -> Set or Get Sprite.X
    [/code:3kssq59o]
  • Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Yeah, that's a shame. A quick way would have been really handy.

• If you catch Lucid in chat or he sees this thread he might be able to help. He knows lots about python.

• Will have to do that. I was sort of hoping for, say, Ashley to say something like: "Ah, right, just do this...", though

• From what I understand that would take a deal of rewriting within Construct. However Lucid did mention that it should be possible to make a plug that would do that for you.

This defiantly something needed for C2.

• Is it really that useful? All you need is a subevent - compare UID - then you do whatever you need in that event, and it affects the instance with the matched UID.

• Guess that's an option. Limits it a bit to whatever gets picked in that subevent and needs the sub event itself.