A few questions

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • I'd like to start out by admitting that I'm completely new to game making and this program, so sorry if I seem, well, newbish. ;P

I should also probably explain that I'm working on a visual novel-type game (if you don't know what that is, try typing in "Umineko" on YouTube; it's a popular visual novel series and doesn't really have any other adaptations yet, so it should be easy to find), so it's really mainly just a start screen, opening, stills of characters over backgrounds with the occasional animations, text, BGM and SFX, and an ending.

Anyway, I've managed to work out a few problems I've had starting out, but I still have a few questions:

• Audio: I've basically figured out how to add music, but it doesn't play when I click "run". Is it a bug or am I doing something wrong? Also, is there a way to get music to play continuously through more than one event? I'm also wondering how to have BGM and also add SFX over it, and maybe add in voices.
    • Video: I'm planning on doing an opening and ending and such (animated on a different program, of course); is there some way to put a non-AVI video in as a "layout"?
    • Images: Since it's a visual novel game, I'm not planning on using tiny sprites or tiled backgrounds. Is there a way I can expand the "sprite" size to use a full character image (and have the picture actually work), and a way to use a full image for the background?
  • [quote:1x9hr2yq]- Audio: I've basically figured out how to add music, but it doesn't play when I click "run". Is it a bug or am I doing something wrong? Also, is there a way to get music to play continuously through more than one event? I'm also wondering how to have BGM and also add SFX over it, and maybe add in voices.

-add the Xaudio2 object. put your music/sound in the .cap project files directory. create a new event in which Xaudio first loads "mysound.wav" then plays it on channel 1 (or any other channel)