How can I build better collisions with these animations?

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
3 pixel charaters with over 8 animations each + animations with a gun
  • Hi guys & gals,

I'm new to the construct platform - it seems quite exciting and I'm getting a hand for some of the basic mechanics.

I tried the platform behavior on my sprite (which has multiple animations.. Idle, Run, Jump, Fall). The problem I am facing is the size of each animation is a little different which caused issues (For example. Character partially jumping through a solid however the landing animation catching on the edge where there isn't any contact).

I tried to remedy this by creating a 'collisionbox' for the player which I've matched the position to. This has fixed some of the animations however this way applies the same size box to all animations. It's a bit hard to describe.

A few pictures have been added to hopefully show what I mean - the collision box is shaped and sized properly for the 'fall' animation however when it flips back to idle the collision box is too bix for that animation.

[img= [img=

]

]

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • drive.google.com/file/d/1bajYeBYiOWSC9PJ6nJyy3n2tX9c2GGfO/view

This is my example. I believe I've mostly done what you've mentioned but the problem is as you will see.. The width of one animation is different than another.

Do I need to make multiple collision boxes to cover each animation and disable/enable the boxes or is there an easier way?