Tiledbackground problem : FPS drop when using background

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
With this template you will learn how to use the GooglePlay Games native plugin
  • I'm currently developing my game for a mobile game, my problem is something like this. I have a player using 8 direction movement, a touch event for mobile controls, some tiled background(64x64) for the walls and lastly a tiledbackground(128x128) for a background. My Viewport size is 720x1280(landscape) when I'm testing my game on an android device (8.0) Whenever the player moves in a different direction I noticed that my FPS drop from 60 to 45-52 after trying different method to solved my problem I found out that my background is causing a problem.Here are my method lists.

METHOD 1 :

Delete background (tiledbackground)

Current FPS when player moves: 58-60

METHOD 2:

Change background to a sprite instead of tiledbackground

Current FPS when player moves:56-60

Problem: apk size will increase(gonna used multiple backgrounds)

METHOD 3:

Change Viewport size to a smaller one

Current FPS when player moves: 58-60

Problem:I don't feel like using small viewport(Graphics quality will decrease).

Here's my simple event

Note:My fps drops only when I'm testing on a mobile devices but on a desktop the fps is on a normal rate.

• Hi.. I curious about your case.

Do you try that in several different phone with different specification (CPU,RAM,..) or you just try it only in 1 phone ?

• Yes, I tried on a different android device and also on a tablet but got the same result.(Android 8.0)

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I see. IMHO maybe it is hardware limitation issue. I face a similar case too.

anyway this performance tips worth to be considered : scirra.com/manual/134/performance-tips