What to choose?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
  • Hello, im new in Construct 2 and I have a question to those, who work with this programm for a long time. Im creating a clicker game and I need to know, what way to create monsters would be the best:

1. Just to create one sprite object and put ALL monsters animations in it (animation layer 1 - monster №1 animation, animation layer 2 - monster №2 animation, ets) and then just go to random animation layer and play it, this should be looking like a new monster on a screen created with his animation.

2. Create a new sprite object for each monster, put all these sprite objects to one family (thats exactly what im doing now), and then just work with family. It helps me NOT to create same events for each monster, but all of them should have instances on a layer and when I spawn random monster instead of one I have on screen now, all family instances plays same animation as one on the screen, which disturbs me, maybe it will ruin game's fps.

Thank you.

• I'll go with number 2

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Use the famaly feature. You can create one event for the famaly. And later different behavior for each sprite (monster). For the animation you can shift the start animation frame randomly. ...

Can you upload the game or example project?

• The fact the layout-by-layout texture management works by loading entire object types in to memory (all animations, all frames, per object type) is a good reason to go with number 2. If you use number 1, you can only either load all the images in to memory, or none; with number 2, only the objects used on each layout are loaded in to memory.