Randomly Generate Sequence of Images (Memory Game)

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
500 monsters and creatures images for card games - Set 1
  • This post and question is more about the foundation approach for a game that I am working on. I have a multiple word phrase/sentence that I would like to move players through one correct word at a time. I would like to show 1 right answer per screen or sequence and two incorrect answers.

In the end the game will be either a 3 lane side scrolling game or a 3 lane vertical game where you move the player to the correct lane and shoot something at the word. If you get it correct you move on. If you don't then you move backwards or start over.

I think the answer lies in a arrays and sprite sheets but would love to grab some direction as I am new to the game dev world and programming logic to be honest. I have read a few things on arrays in the forums and I am starting to grasp them but with the added functionality I am looking for it makes things steeper in terms of learning curve.

I envision a sprite sheet with 3 columns and multiple rows pending on the sentence length. The first position of every column would be the correct answer and the other columns would be incorrect.

Each screen would have 3 locations or image points. I want to randomly generate the correct answer and two wrong answers for each image point. Doesn't have to use image points if that does not make sense however it felt like the a great starting point.

If the correct answer is chosen then I would like to load the next word in the sentence randomly at 1 of the 3 image points next to the two wrong answers.

Any links to relevant articles. Suggestions on approach, etc. would be great. I don't expect anyone to do the work for me but would like a more solid concept or something to chase down and figure out as I am lacking the programming logic skills to understand the best approach.