Online Multiplayer through Steam?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Vintage steam pixels for your UI! 125 unique assets in a single pack!
  • Is it possible? I know Construct 2 has online multiplayer functions, but what I want to know is if it doable when you have your game on Steam as well?

I recently put up my game on Greenlight and there has been demand for online multiplayer. I'm still new at all of this, so I want to know if it is possible before I even try to attempt it.

And just to give you an idea of my game, it's a top-down LOCAL multiplayer shooter.

A little more info on my thread here:

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Quick answer - Yes online multiplayer is doable.

But when you say "on steam" do you mean integrated with steam's matchmaking functionality/friends lists ect.? Then I have no idea how to go about that.

If you design with the multiplayer plugin, it will work on its own with or without steam.

Looks fantastic by the way!

• oosyrag Thanks for the reply and thanks for the compliment. I have no idea on what I might be dealing with so that's why I'm even asking.

Because from what I assumed, the multiplayer plugin connects browsers together? And everybody just jumps into a P2P server of some sort. Can the multiplayer plugin limit up to 4 players and do matchmaking? Taking to account that I won't be relying on Steam, but my game will be exported as NW.js, does it still work?

• Multiplayer plugin can limit number of players in "rooms". Matchmaking can be a complicated topic, but the simplest would be something like "Join first available room that is not full. If there are none available, create/host a new room". Here is information about how signalling works: https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/892/mu ... pts/page-3