New to Contruct2 Totaly Stuck on basic movment

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Create your game with this complete pack of images and animations!
  • Hi folks..

Im new to construct / forum (sorry If ive posted this in the wrong section) .. just to note im not very technical with things and i can not code in any shape or forum.

I made a test sprite (thinking of making a top down shooter)

And found this tutorial

gamedev.tutsplus.com/tutorials/from-scratch/build-a-shoot-em-up-in-construct-2-the-players-ship

I skipped (for the time being) the first parts and I am focusing on learning how to create a player (ship) and made it move with keyboard.

So from that website there is this video:

youtube.com/watch

I watched it (upto the point im getting stuck) about 10 times now.. freezing video, scrutinizing the gui ... taken screen shots to better zoom in on code hes putting ..etc .. anyway i cant get my little ship to move at all. no matter what I seem to do.

For the moment im trying to test simple up/down movement (i am ignoring left right for now since Im struggling even to get up and down to work)

Im not sure what I am doing wrong. and Im not sure in text to explain what areas of the software i should be describing to help someone here help me identify what im doing wrong so i thought the best thing to do would be to upload the actual project file.. the only asset that is in it now is the player sprite (ship) then the 2 instances of movement events + 2 declared variables..etc

Ive been at this for a while and I just cant work out what Im doing wrong and i cant progress with anything else until i learn fundamental basic stuff like how to make a sprite move.

Anyway here is the project .. i sure someone can help.. Ive brought it as far as I can.

fractalscapes.net/-DUMP/shooter.rar

thanks

• Hello Pangaea , i think this guide :

scirra.com/tutorials/37/beginners-guide-to-construct-2

will cover anything you need to know :) .