How do I store variable values to a retrievable file?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily store, modify, read and manipulate colors with Color Variables!
  • Hello everyone!

My first post as I am new to Construct and just started my first project.

I'm doing a PhD in Psychological Test construction and am using construct to develop a web app for a basic math test for children (and for games if I happen to have time left )

I have a very specific need and haven't found any solution through google or the forums here.

As the test taker progresses, his answers are stored in global variables.

For example: The subject chooses answer 1 on the first item, which is stored in the global variable Item1.

On the next task, his answer will be stored in the variable Item2 and so forth.

Now what I want is for the app to export the ItemX variables into a local file (CSV for example) for me to grab and save, so that i can analyze the results results without having to watch the test taker and manually note every answer he as clicked. I have tried the CSV plugin but cannot find out how to use it, and if I understood correctly it is not used in the way that i would like.

I have almost no knowledge about web technologies and only a superficial grasp of programming which is why I am using Construct.

Did anybody try to achieve something similiar? Do i need to take a different approach if i want to store "answers" of multiple choice questions externally? Or could i somehow make the app generate a html file at the end that contains a table with the variable names and last values and which I could copy paste to excell? What I want to achieve is storing the complete variable names with their value in some file that i can access, one way or another.

I absolutely love this software but now after my first 2 days with it I'm finally stuck.

Here is the most recent Version of my project if somebody wants to have a better idea of how it works.