How do I Make An Enemy Sprite Inactive Upon Defeat?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Be discreet and rescue your friends from behind enemy lines.
  • Hello Wonderful People!

I am new to Construct 2. I am making an 8-bit Platform game.

When I defeat an enemy sprite, I don't want it destroyed-- I want it to run off screen in a fit of tears. I figured out the running off screen part, but unfortunately if it collides with my player on the way out my player still takes damage. Is there a way to make the enemy sprite inactive, or un-collidible, upon defeat? As in, my player sprite can no longer interact with it?

• Well, you just have to disable the part which makes the ennemy affect the player's health. I presume it's like "on collision with player" => player health = player.health - 1 or something. You can make a boolean variable "alive" initialised on true, and when this variable is false (after the ennemy's deafeat), then the ennemy doesn't affect the health anymore. For example :

[event]

Ennemy : On collision with Player

variable alive = true

[action]

playerHealth = playerHealth - 1

[event]

variable alive = false

[action]

playerHealth = playerHealth

It's an idea, I didn't tested it, but that's how I'll try it.

• Well, you just have to disable the part which makes the ennemy affect the player's health. I presume it's like "on collision with player" => player health = player.health - 1 or something. You can make a boolean variable "alive" initialised on true, and when this variable is false (after the ennemy's deafeat), then the ennemy doesn't affect the health anymore. For example :

[event]

variable alive = true

[action]

playerHealth = playerHealth - 1

[event]

variable alive = false

[action]

playerHealth = playerHealth

It's an idea, I didn't tested it, but that's how I'll try it.