How do I make a plane drop a bomb

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Bomb Box
$3 USD
Game inspired by the classic bomberman game, with a 3D footprint!
  • I'm just starting out and I'm getting there but I have hit a brick wall with this.

I have a plane (enemy) flying across the screen every 3 seconds. His speed and angle are random as is where he pops out. His direction is always left to right. Because his speed is random you can sometimes have two planes on screen at the same time, but that is fine with me.

I have achieved all of the above by reading/watching tutorials and forum posts. If I can't find an example of what I want to happen, I'm kind of lost. I am not at the stage where I can work without an example to go from. I thought my problem would be simple to solve, but in fact I can find no example of this type of action.

What I am looking for is that this plane, at a given point (say, 300 pix from left edge) drops a bomb which then falls vertically towards the ground where my hero has to dodge it. I thought such an example would be simple to find but the nearest I have found is a mouse or touch action to spawn a bomb, which works, but my first problem is when I try to set a condition like when plane is 300 pix from X axis, spawn bomb nothing ever appears. This is confirmed when I run it in debug. Bomb is always (0).

My second problem is that even when I use a mouse or touch action to spawn a bomb, my bomb appears but ALWAYS goes horizontally to the right, whatever bullet angle I set it to (0,90,180 or 270). It's a bomb, not a missile, I need it to fall.

I'm clearly trying to run before I can walk, and I'm no programmer but Construct 2, which I have bought, says you don't have to be a programmer so I kind of hoped this wouldn't be the nightmare it seems to have become. Can somebody point me to a tutorial or example script which has a flying enemy dropping a single bomb and then disappearing?