How do I keep the level editor updated with the game itself?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Supports 1D, 2D, 3D arrays. Import and export arrays in JSON format
  • Hi everyone,

I'm new to gamedev and I am currently working on only my second game. The core art and mechanics are already defined but now I've come to the conclusion that I will need to create a level editor for my game. However, due to the specifics of the game mechanics I want for the person in charge of level editing to quickly test the level. Ideally I will continue working on the developing the game, (sound, gui, additional mechanics, etc), in parallel with the person creating the levels.

What I would like to is that when the level creator test plays the new levels, the gameplay would always be updated with the latest development stage, ideally in a seemless process.

What process should I use?:

• 2 different capx, one for the game and another for level editor, and manually update level editor?
    • define a common list of sprites, events, sounds etc that is shared by 2 capx? Is this possible?

I am drawing a blank at this stage, I would appreciate any help. Thank you in advance.

• I would suggest making a level editor that is separate to your game. I don't know how you are storing level data at the moment... but you could have the editor export a "level file" that the game will automatically read.

I have made things like this in the past, and having another program that can run independently is a big bonus.

~Sol

• I would actually go for the editor as part of the game's main capx, this way it can share exactly the same mechanics you implemented in your "gameplay" part, and would allow the preview/test part of the editor to always be up to date with the current implementation, and would still allow to have the editor separated from the main gameplay from the simple fact it would be in different layouts and accessed from a different way from a main menu in the game.