How do I finish my game?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
five golem elements Sprites Sheet.Best for enemy or villain game characters.
  • Hi everyone! I am new to the Construct 2 community and just have a few questions. I have nearly finished my game but there are still a few more things that I can't seem to work out.

1) How do I make the game go to a win screen if the players score is high enough and similarly to a lose screen if the player score is too low. The game ends when the player goes through a door but I don't know how to do it from here.

2) One of the mini-games in my game is having the player pickup a rubbish bin and collect falling objects. I can only seem to pin the bin to the player's image point which is beneath her. How do I make it so that the bin is pinned above her?

• 1) I assume there's a global variable with the score. Create 2 layouts, the win screen and the lose screen.

Add a 2 subevents to the player going through the door event:

Subevent 1

Condition : System ->Compare variable -> score < [minimum success value]

Action: Go to layout [Lose Screen]

Subevent 2

Condition : System->Compare Variable -> score >= [minimum success value]

Action: Go to layout [Win Screen]

2) That's just a simple z order issue. Either right click the bin in the layout and say move to top of layer, or create an event to do the same.

If you upload a capx I'll be happy to help you out if this wasn't clear.

• Thank you so much! You solved my first problem and I can now get it working. I still can't work out the bin thing.

I don't think I explained it properly the first time, sorry. I am trying to attach the bin above the player's head on collision with that bin.

In my events, all I have is player on collision with bin. I don't know where to go from here and the player only has an origin point as I don't know how to work image points.

Also is it possible to get him to put it down after a certain time period?

Thanks again.

• Try Construct 3