How do I create a character class system?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • Hi Guys,

I am a natural Level Designer in Game Development and I am learning programming (Also the programming that C2 uses) and I am created a game that will have some Character Classes (Summoner, Dark Knight, Assassin, Mage) and was wondering how I would start this process.

I understand some knowledge on Variables etc and was wondering how I would start developing a system for different stats, sprites and moves for each character.

Thank You!

• I think the question is a bit too wide to give a direct answer to, but I'll try.

Using different sprites for different characters would automatically work, even if you are planning to use one sprite to put all movement events on.

Just pin the character sprite to the movement sprite and use the character for the interaction and animation.

In the case of stats, a lot can be done by giving the character instance variables, but sometimes using the dictionary object or the array object is more usefull, depends on your needs and ofcourse your personal preferences.

• I have been tinkering with an RPG myself and my class system is likely not the most efficient but here are some ways I handle it.

Start with Global Variable for classes (can be either 0-5 and each number is a class or choose a text variable and store the name of the class). Then pull the class as a conditional variable to modify certain events, so a Dragon-Shaman may have fire immunity so a firey floor tile will have a condition of:

If <Player> collides with <Fire>
    && Global Variable 'Class' does NOT = "DragonShaman"

Global Variable <Health> reduce 5[/code:3308ketm]
    or maybe they are a fighter class that gives a damage reduction so you can have a damage calculation of this:

[code:3308ketm]Health Lost = <Monster Damage> + <Monster Strength> - <Damage Reduction>