How do I Count the number of an instance

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Be quick and count the cards and choose the right number!
  • Hello all,

Sorry if this has been explained elsewhere but I can't find it. I'm not a programmer, and have only had the program a week so I'm stumped. I have an enemy sprite called "SnailEnemy" and a goal where I want them to get to.

How do I:

1) Start of Layout, count the number of "SnailEnemy" to create "SnailEnemyCount" (Instance Variable on Goal)

2) Subtract 1 from "SnailEnemyCount" whenever it collides with "Goal"

3) If "SnailEnemyCount = 0", restart Layout

I could set the SnailEnemyCount manually to the number each layout starts with, but I want the system to handle it instead. When I run the game, on the first restart I get the message:

"The Instance being inspected ('Goal' UID 18) was destroyed"

I don't have any actions that should destroy the Goal so I don't know why it's breaking. It remains visible even while the system continually tries to restart. Thanks for any and all responses.

• I would make a global variable called "snailEnemyCount" by right clicking in the event editor and choosing add global variable

then make an event "on system start." set global/local choose "snailEnemyCount" and then type snailEnemy.Count

then as new event snailEnemy - is overlaping and then choose goal.

system set global/local snailEnemyCount = snailEnemyCount-1

finally an event for snailEnemyCount = 0 restart layout

hope I explained it well and hope it helps. Also I have no idea about your bug.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Thanks for the assistance

• You should be able to get what you want with NO variables at all just have a System compare to values SnailEneamy.count = 0 it's that simple